Trinity Grammar School takes home first place at the 2019 F1 in Schools National Finals

F1 in Schools competition

17,000 schools across 44 countries raced again year in the F1 in schools competition. It’s an annual comp that challenges students to put their engineering, design and teamwork skills to the test in developing miniature race cars that can accelerate to 80 kilometres an hour in under 1 second.

The F1 in schools 2019 National Finals

Professional class

This year’s competition saw some old favourites returning for another chance to claim the top titles, and some newcomers making waves with impressively quick designs.

This year’s top prize winner was team Evolve from Trinity Grammar School in Kew, Victoria. Trinity Grammar School has a long history of taking home both national and world final titles, with team Stingers (2005) and team Hyperdrive (2017) both landing prizes at a global level.

Team Evolve was one of 17 teams from 5 states across Australia competing at the Professional level. Judges determine a winner by scoring finalists against 13 categories: innovation, design, use of computer software, collaboration with industry, engineering excellence, technical portfolio, pit display, verbal presentation and car speed. Team Evolve blitzed the judging categories, winning first place scores in three of the eight categories they were finalists in. The team members will be flying to Abu Dhabi to compete in the 2019 F1 in Schools World Championships.


Developmental class

You don’t have to have a history of winning at your school to walk away a winner, and the Developmental class is evidence of that. Two of the winners at the developmental level were newcomers to the competition: Blue Mountains Grammar School, winners of the Development class and Gold Coast Christian College, which came a close second to them. Penrith Christian School, also managed to score 3rd in the Professional class.

If you’re keen to get your school involved, visit the F1 in Schools website.


2019 F1 in Schools National Finals results

Here are all the winners from the 2019 National Finals across both Developmental and Professional classes.


Development class:

  • 8th – Velocity – St Francis Xavier College
  • 18th – Spear Head Racing – Alfred Deakin High School


Development class:

  • 1st – Thrust Vector – Blue Mountains Grammar
  • 4th – Impro Racing – Mount View High School
  • 10th – M.K.B.D. Racing – Cessnock High School

Professional class:

  • 2nd – Pentessellate – Mount View High School
  • 3rd – Vectory – Penrith Christian School
  • 8th – Sine Wave Racing – St Phillips Christian School
  • 10th – Vertex Racing – Fort Street High School


Development class:

  • 2nd – Dark Matter – Gold Coast Christian College
  • 14th – Dynamic Flow – Mackay Christian College
  • 15th – Veloce – Brisbane State High School

Professional class:

  • 4th – Quantum Overload – Mackay North State High School
  • 7th – Vivacity – Gold Coast Christian College
  • 14th – Team Tachyon – Brisbane State High School


Development class:

  • 3rd – Beyond – Brighton Secondary School
  • 5th – Lickety Split – Adelaide High School
  • 11th – Tachyonic Racing – Charles Campbell College

Professional class:

  • 12th – Quantum – Cardijn College
  • 17th – Apex – Westminster School


Development class:

  • 7th – Celetas – Queechy High School

Professional class:

  • 11th – Red Spites Racing – Kings Meadows High School
  • 13th – Ambition – Queechy High School


Development class:

  • 6th – Ayaks – Trinity Grammar School, Kew
  • 9th – Entity Racing – Haileybury College
  • 13th – Conquest Racing – Alamanda K-9 College

Professional class:

  • 1st – Evolve – Trinity Grammar School, Kew
  • 5th – Catalyst – Trinity Grammar School, Kew
  • 9th – Trident Automotive – Haileybury College
  • 15tyh – Slipstream Racing – Alamanda K-9 College


Development class:

  • 12th – Team Nexus – Wesley College
  • 16th – La Vitesse – Newton Moore Senior High School
  • 17th – Schnell Racing – Eaton Community College

Professional class:

  • 5th – Nebular Racing – Wesley College
  • 16th – Synthesis – Wesley College
  • 18th – Team Raptors – Balga Senior High School
Eliza Brockwell

Author: Eliza Brockwell

Eliza is passionate about creating content that encourages diversity of representation in STEM.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.