Close this search box.
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Meet the judges: Bragg Prize 2023

Bragg Prize

Love science and writing? The UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing opens for entries April 27. Here, we introduce you to this year’s judges

Donna Buckley, John Curtin College of the Arts

Donna Buckley

Donna Buckley is the Assistant Director of Mathematics and VET Cybersecurity teacher at John Curtin College of the Arts, Fremantle WA. Donna is the coordinator of MAWA Maths Talent Quest, an activity that encourages students to apply mathematical and statistical thinking processes to solve problems creatively.

An avid science reader, she is the co-founder of #MathsBookClubWA, a network of educators who meet regularly to discuss the latest popular books in mathematics. She has over 20 years’ experience in education, keeping up to date with technological trends and introducing these concepts into her classroom. 

Donna Lu

Donna Lu, Guardian Australia

Donna Lu is a science writer at Guardian Australia. She previously worked in London as a journalist for New Scientist magazine, and has written for The Atlantic, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Saturday Paper. 

Sarah Chapman, Townsville State High School

Sarah Chapman is the Head of Department of Science at Townsville State High School and is in her twentieth year of teaching. She is passionate about inspiring, engaging and empowering people through STEM.

Sarah commits extensive portions of her own time lifting the profile of STEM education, by working with students, teachers and the broader community. In a voluntary capacity, she is the Founder of the Townsville STEM Hub, and Co-Chair of Women in STEMM Australia.

Sarah Chapman

In 2019, Sarah was awarded a Commonwealth Bank of Australia Teaching Award Fellowship. In 2018, Sarah was selected as one of ten national STEM Ambassadors by Science and Technology Australia, and was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute. She was awarded a Barbara Cail STEM Fellowship in 2016, which involved international travel to research best practice in engaging young people into STEM.

Sarah was awarded the prestigious Prime Minister’s Secondary Science Teaching Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in 2013. In 2014 she was selected as a Queensland Government Science Champion. Sarah’s work has also been recognised with a prestigious Peter Doherty, Outstanding Teacher of Science Award in 2008 (Queensland Government) and an Australian Award for Teaching Excellence in 2009 (Teaching Australia).  

Sarah is an inspirational keynote speaker and workshop presenter at local, state, national and international STEM events. She is also regularly consulted by a range of institutions for the advice around vision and direction of STEM engagement and education.

Brooke Jamieson

Brooke Jamieson, Amazon Web Services

Brooke Jamieson is a Senior Developer at Amazon Web Services. She uses her AI know-how and cutting-edge tech to solve all kinds of business problems for her clients.

Heather Catchpole, Refraction Media

Heather Catchpole

Heather Catchpole is a business owner and communications expert with wide experience in collaboration, startups, science and technology sectors. She is the CEO of Refraction Media, a STEM specialist content company that has worked with the Australian Academy of Science, Chief Scientists Office, Cooperative Research Centres, Australian Council of Deans of Science, Google, Atlassian, CSIRO and many more.

Heather excels at distilling complex messages, onboarding stakeholders, facilitating mentorship and promoting a culture of collaboration.

A journalist, presenter and producer, Heather has experience working with media, universities, government, educators and large finance, science and technology corporations. She is the founder of the Careers with STEM brand, promoted by Barack Obama’s 2016 CS for all initiative and responsible for distributing 2 million free STEM careers magazines to high school students in the US, Australia and New Zealand.

Heather’s wide-ranging background includes creating a virtual tour of a nuclear reactor and reporting for ABC radio from fossil digs and live volcanoes. She is the author of a number of children’s books, including most recently Ready, Set, Code!

Keen to submit an essay this year?

This year’s UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing opens April 27 and the topic is Artificial Intelligence in science. Stay in the loop by signing up to our eNewsletter and check out last year’s UNSW Bragg Prize winner here.

Bragg 2022
The UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing is a competition for Year 7-10 students in Australia.

About the UNSW Bragg Student Science Prize 

The Bragg Prize is an annual award celebrating the best non-fiction science essay written for a general audience. An initiative of UNSW PressUNSW Science and Refraction Media, the UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing is designed to encourage and celebrate the next generation of science writers, researchers and leaders. For an aspiring university Dean of Science or Walkley Award-winning journalist, this could be the first entry on their CV.

The Bragg Prizes are named for Australia’s very first Nobel Laureates, the father-and-son team of William Henry Bragg and William Lawrence Bragg. 2015 marked the centenary of their Nobel Prize win in Physics for their work on the X-ray analysis of crystal structures. William Henry Bragg was a firm believer in making science popular among young people. His lectures for students were described as models of clarity and intellectual excitement. More information about the Bragg prizes can be found here.

Competition sponsors

2020 UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing sponsor logos


Share this post :
X (Twitter)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Signup to our newsletter

Latest Job Kit

STEM Role Models