Close this search box.
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Meet the judges: Bragg Prize 2024

Bragg Prize Judges 2024

Love science and writing? The UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing opens for entries April 29.

Get excited – the UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing 2024 is right around the corner. Below, we introduce you to the Bragg Prize judges for 2024.

Here are your judges!

Donna Buckley, John Curtin College of the Arts

Donna Buckley

Ms Donna Buckley is a teacher at John Curtin College of the Arts in WA. In 2023, she was the recipient of the Prime Ministers Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools for her work to inspire students with diverse, creative backgrounds, by applying mathematics to real-world problems and introducing them to future career opportunities in science.

Donna is a Life Member of the Maths Association of WA, the 2023 WA Star [+] Award winner of the Women in Technology (WiTWA) Awards and was the recipient  of an ICT Educator Award by the Academy of Computer Science. 

An avid science reader, she is the co-founder of #MathsBookClubWA, a network of educators who meet regularly to discuss the latest popular books in mathematics. She has over 20 years’ experience in education, including working with her school’s Roots and Shoots club to improve sustainability and biodiversity by acting locally. 

Janice Vaz

Janice Vaz, wildlife biologist

Janice is a wildlife biologist who has recently completed her doctorate.

She grew up in Mumbai with a love for wildlife and brings experience in environmental education and community projects. She moved to Australia to pursue her PhD; with her research supporting rescued big cats and seeking to understand people’s perspectives on animal welfare and ways to further improve it.

Janice is passionate about engaging with the community and brings great science communications skills. She wants to help people feel a strong connection with nature, making them curious to appreciate the beauty of all living creatures.

Corey Tutt, CEO and Founder, Deadly Science

Corey Tutt
Corey Tutt

Corey Tutt OAM is a Kamilaroi man from Nowra on the New South Wales south coast. As a kid, he dreamed of becoming a zookeeper and in high school he developed a love of STEM subjects. But unlike the arts and sport, he found there was little encouragement for Aboriginal people to pursue careers in STEM.

In 2018, while working as a research assistant for the University of Sydney, Corey founded DeadlyScience, a not-for-profit organisation that aims to provide science books and telescopes to remote schools in Australia, and connects young Indigenous people with mentors to encourage their participation in STEM subjects.

In 2020, Corey was named the NSW Young Australian of the Year, and a Human Rights Hero by the Australian Human Rights Commission.

He continues to work tirelessly to send STEM resources to Indigenous communities, and show First Nations kids that STEM is for them. The organisation has even attracted international attention, with Corey presenting at Harvard and Oxford universities. In 2021, DeadlyScience received the Australian Museum Eureka STEM Inclusion Prize.

In 2022, Corey received the Medal of the Order of Australia for service to Indigenous STEM education.

Carl Smith, science journalist and children’s presenter

Carl Smith

Carl Smith is a Walkley Award-winning science journalist and children’s presenter.

He makes audio documentaries and written features for ABC Radio National’s Science Unit and he also writes and co-hosts the ethics podcast for kids, Short & Curly.

He’s been an ABC News Cadet, a geneticist, a reporter on Behind the News, a ‘Journalist in Residence’ in Germany, and an animated presenter on the ABC Education series Minibeast Heroes.

Carl is also the Vice President of the Science Journalists Association of Australia and the current co-editor of the Best Australian Science Writing 2024 anthology.

Dr Jackson Ryan, science and tech reporter

Dr Jackson Ryan

Dr Jackson Ryan is a science and tech reporter at the ABC and President of the Science Journalists Association of Australia.

He completed his PhD in molecular biology and skeletal health at the University of South Australia in 2017 before it dawned on him that he’s not cut out for academia.

In 2022, he was awarded the Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Science Journalism for a series of stories from Antarctica.

He has also been featured in the Best Australian Science Writing anthology in 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023.

RELATED: Science writing tips from past Bragg Prize judges

Keen to submit an essay this year?

This year’s UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing opens April 29 and the topic is ‘People power: working together to protect our environment’. Stay in the loop by signing up to our eNewsletter and check out last year’s UNSW Bragg Prize winner here.

Bragg 2022
The UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing is a competition for Year 7-10 students in Australia.

About the UNSW Bragg Student Science Prize 

The Bragg Prize is an annual award celebrating the best non-fiction science essay written for a general audience. An initiative of UNSW PressUNSW Science and Refraction Media, the UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing is designed to encourage and celebrate the next generation of science writers, researchers and leaders. For an aspiring university Dean of Science or Walkley Award-winning journalist, this could be the first entry on their CV.

The Bragg Prizes are named for Australia’s very first Nobel Laureates, the father-and-son team of William Henry Bragg and William Lawrence Bragg. 2015 marked the centenary of their Nobel Prize win in Physics for their work on the X-ray analysis of crystal structures. William Henry Bragg was a firm believer in making science popular among young people. His lectures for students were described as models of clarity and intellectual excitement. More information about the Bragg prizes can be found here.

Competition sponsors

2020 UNSW Bragg Student Prize for Science Writing sponsor logos


Share this post :
X (Twitter)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Signup to our newsletter

Latest Job Kit

STEM Role Models



Podcast: Teaching digital technologies in high schools

Heather Catchpole, co-founder and head of content of Careers with STEM and Refraction Media, spoke with James Curran, CEO of Grok Academy, on tools, tips and techniques to teach digital technologies in 2024.